Study Session

I have a confession to make: I haven’t gotten past the assault rules in the rule book.

I’ve never been great at rule books and instructions. Once I hit the second sentence explaining, in detail, the minutia behind how to do something, my eyes start to glaze over and I find my attention wandering. I much prefer to learn by doing. Unfortunately, seeing as how I don’t have a standing army, that’s going to be pretty hard for me to do.

Today, I settled onto the couch, hellbent on getting through at least the assault section, but midway through the bit about a model charging through difficult terrain I flipped to the back of the book and began to read about the Imperium instead. I flipped some more and read the bits about Orks. Did some writing on the computer. Made some lunch while listening to The Overlords (Good podcast. At least, two years ago it was. Still in 2011 at the moment.). And now it’s 8:30 and all I really know about assault is that I think the Roll to Hit, Roll to Wound mechanic is absolutely absurd.

I want someone to explain why those two rolls can’t be reduced to a single roll, with the defending model taking an armor save after a successful hit to see if they take a wound. You can get rid of the toughness stat completely. In Dungeons and Dragons the two rolls make sense because the second roll determines how much damage the critter takes, not whether it takes a wound or not. Since the number of wounds in 40K is pre-determined, can’t they just make it a single roll to hit?

Anyway, I’m assuming I’m missing something. Hell, I haven’t even finished the rule book.

Hopefully, by the time I’ve finished building a playable army, I’ll have waded through the rules. And my Codex, which I’ve at least skimmed through once or twice AND printed out the FAQ from Games Workshop.

Oh, other new players, you’ll find that if your codex hasn’t been updated since Sixth Edition has come out that Games Workshop has released a FAQ that corrects and amends the rules in your codex. Go here to find your codex’s corrections.

Tomorrow, I’ll try and put up a painting guide on my new genestealers.

-D-

Leave a comment