Dynamic Models

I’ve been enjoying building my Tyranid army a lot more than my first Imperial Guard army. The models for the ‘nids are, for the most part, much more pose-able and expressive than a grunt with a gun (Oh look! His gun is pointing slightly to the left!).

I especially love the genestealer model. They’re extremely expressive and have a lot of individual personality. The four arms gives a lot of opportunities for a wide range of gestures and motions. I went to a lot of trouble to insure that none of my ‘gaunts or genestealers are standing in the same way.

This is part of the reason why my gargoyle squad was so disappointing to put together. There are only five different positions available for the wings and three of those positions look almost identical, so you have 6 out of the squad with their wings pointing forward.

It’s for this reason that, more than ever, I want to start messing around with conversions and green stuff. The tools are out there to take these models and do some really interesting things. I’m not ready yet to really start converting and I’m more interested in focusing on getting my painting skills up to acceptable levels, but ideas are starting to percolate about what I want to do for things like the gargoyle squad and their inflexible wings.

-D-

Leave a comment